Back to All Events

Napier Notes

A new series of concerts launched in collaboration with Napier University, offering young student musicians the opportunity to perform their repertoire in an intimate performance space at the Scottish Arts Club.

Graduate and current students of Edinburgh Napier University, including Michael Saunders, present solo and chamber works by John Cage, Morton Feldman and Earle Brown. 

New York of the 1950s was home to an unprecedented exchange of ideas between musicians and visual artists living and working in the city. John Cage, Morton Feldman and Earle Brown - core members of a group of musicians termed the New York School - produced music inspired by their contact with visual artists that was radically new in its aesthetic and had a profound impact on the development of music in the 20th century.

Programme to include:

The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs (1942) - John Cage 

In a Landscape (1948) - John Cage 

A Flower (1950) - John Cage

Projection 4 (1951) - Morton Feldman 

December 1952 (1952) - Earle Brown